September 11, 2001: 13 Years Later

Today marks 13 years later since the infamous 9-11 went down. Do you remember where you were when you heard the news, or what you were doing when it happened. Some people were front and center, going through the horrific event. There were mass media coverage everywhere. This was something significant that changed the course of history, it will be a page in the history books. 

On the morning of September 11. 2001, I was living in New York City. I had recently graduated from Franklin K Lane HS in Brooklyn. I remember being bed when I was suddenly awoken by my grandmother, she called my to see the news because there were breaking news of a terrorist attack in NYC. I remember the time being around 8:30 AM and there were a video of the news of one of the twin towers with smoke coming from it. The news was reporting that a terrorist group hijacked an airplane and crashed it into the twin towers. Everyone was so shocked that there were silenced everywhere. But nothing could have prepared everyone for what was about to happen next. On live TV while the whole world was watching, all of a sudden a second plane crashed into the second tower that wasn’t smoking. The shock wave that it sent out was too much to bear. Even though I was living in Brooklyn at the time, I could almost hear all the commotion that was coming from Manhattan.

People were all over the streets, the city had shut down. Everyone was leaving their jobs, trying to get in touch with family members for fear of them being in danger. Manhattan was completely shut down. Every single fire fighter and police officer was on duty that morning. I know that people were lost, confused, and scared.

I remember seeing the first tower collapsing and a short while later the second building went down. And I’m sure that everyone in New York City heard the two towers hitting the ground. On TV there were showing people holding up help signs and calling out for help, all while hanging out the window. There were people jumping from the 100th floor trying to escape and get to safety. Im sure that the people in those two towers were scared for their lives. It was such a sad event to have witnessed. I don’t know what I would have done if that was me on the top floor looking for a way out. I probably would have make some king of parachute to jump and try my luck. Who know what the outcome would have been.

My grandfather was still alive when 9-11 went down and I remember my grandmother waking him out of bed as well, he was in a deep sleep. At that very moment I became concerned that there were going to be a military draft and decided that I was going to joint the U.S. Air Force. I wasn’t going to sit around and wait to be in a position that I didn’t want to be in. At that time my brother had enlisted in the U.S. Army and was trying to convince me to joint when I graduated high school. At first I was hesitant, because I wanted to start working right away. I didn’t have a way of going to college, and didn’t really have a plan for my life. So when September 11 happened, was influenced more to join.

I wish that somehow there was a way to save the innocent people that died in those airplanes and in the two towers but all we could have done was watch. At that very moment, New York City had been united like never before. People were going out of their way to help strangers, people were donating clothes, food, and money. Crime had dropped drastically that year as well. There’s something about tragedy that encourages us to unite with each other and become one people. And New Yorker’s definitely demonstrated that on this tragic event. It changed the lives of many and it changed my life as well, for the better.

Leave a Reply

