Daily Prompt: August Blues

August Blues

As a kid, were you happy or anxious to go back to school? Now that you’re older, how has your attitude towards the end of the summer evolved?


 

Well as a kid I has some very interesting experiences when it came to school. I changed schools so many times, I never had a chance to make a lot of friends, even to this day my friends list is very short. I can say that I truly have only two or three close friends. I can’t say the same for my brother, for some reason he seems to have friends all over the place that he keeps in contact with, even to this day. I was very shy and reserved in school though, so I guess that plays a good part of it. 

I was not very happy returning to school, because I would never have any new clothes to wear going back. Most kids look forward to showing off their brand new kix (that’s what we used to call sneakers back in my school days), and their brand new gear. The only thing I could look forward to is getting laughed at for having the same old gear. There’s been only a handful of time where I had new gear for school but even still it was no name brand, so you can imagine the embarrassment and the jokes. Having nice things was what it was all about, it didnt matter what kind of person you were.

I was only anxious about meeting up with my friends again because I spent most of my summer reading, doing chores and going to miscellaneous places with my step-father who was very strict. The one good thing about summer though was that I got to spend a lot of time with my mom and my older brother. I was always close to my brother, even though I would get angry at him all the time, but somehow he always seem to look past all of that. That’s what I love most about my brother, was the ability to see past things and look at the bigger picture.

Now that I’m older I wish I had spent most of that time perfecting my art and focusing on my future. But instead I was in a messed up situation that forced me to be the only thing that I wanted to be, “a kid” and to have fun summers. Being at home alone with my brother all the time with no TV to watch, or any music to listen to, and the only thing that I could thing of was video games and hanging out with my friends.

I appreciate the summer for all it’s colorfulness and sunny days, for all the family Bar-B-Q’s and get-togethers, and for all the wonderful flowers. But I also look forward to fall and to all the changes it brings. I look forward to the colorful leaves, it’s one of my favorite times of the year to photography because outdoor photography is my favorite kind of photography. And summer is ending now so I ma looking forward to new gear and a new year of G-XXI Photography.

Leave a Reply

