Baby Prep Walk

28 Weeks

It’s 5:15 A.M. I’m asleep and all I can hear is my alarm going off on my phone. I’m thinking to myself “Why on earth am I getting up so early?” I hit snooze and dosed off for a second then I hear my wife’s alarm clock going off a few moments later. She woke up and gave me a kiss in my sleep and said to me “Wake up sleepy head.” I opened my eyes and realized that today we had a walk through appointment set for Kay at the Brampton Civic Hospital. All of a sudden I became really excited, I don’t know what hit me but thoughts of being a father flooded my mind and all I could think about is how excited we both are to become parents.

Kaylah was already up and dressed by the time I rolled out of bed. We were up early because we had to drop Kay’s mom to the train station for work. We were using her car for the day to take care of all the errands we had to run. When 5:30 came around Kay’s mom was ready to go and we all got in her car and I drove her to the GO Train Station for her to catch the train to Toronto where she worked. The sun was just starting to rise and the traffic on the road was already heavy by this time. So after dropping her mother off we wanted to grab breakfast at McDonald’s but decided that we would get it on our way to the hospital since we didn’t have to be there until 9:30 A.M. Instead we headed back home and crashed since we were still feeling really tired.

So 8:30 came and Kaylah got up to take a shower and to get ready, but I decided to rest for a little while longer since it wouldn’t take me too long to get ready. I dragged my feet up until 9:00 A.M. and that’s finally when I got out of bed. I quickly got dressed and we rushed out the house because by now the time was 9:20 and we were about to be late to our 9:30 appointment. We pulled up to the hospital at 9:28 and rushed up to the Maternity Ward where we signed in and waited with a group of other mother’s to be and their significant other. I don’t know why but everywhere my wife and I go there is always someone staring at us as if they’ve never seen a couple in love and all over each other. I mean am I strange for caring and loving my wife as much as I do, or is it strange for her to care for me as much as she does? The lady just kept staring at us and I just kept staring back at her, looking her straight in her eyes waiting for her to say or do something I didn’t like. Because I sure would have given her a piece of my mind and find out what her problem was.

After waiting for about 15 to 20 minutes, the nurse that registered everyone was finally ready to get the show started. She made everyone go in to a conference room where she were presenting us with slide of information. Everything that a mother needed to know and what she needed to be prepared with for her hospital stay was provided. Then after answering everyone’s questions we were ready for the tour of the hospital. The nurse showed up the room where the delivery would take place, she showed us where the baby would be placed after birth, and she even showed us the snack area and the jacuzzi hot tub. I have to say that we came away with a lot of valuable information.

Now that we are getting closer to the due date it’s time to get everything ready for the birth of our beautiful baby girl. We are very excited and are waiting in anticipation. To me that day couldn’t come any sooner, but I will not mess with faith. I’m a patient man and I have faith that everything will go great and our baby will be here at the right time. Please pray for us and for a healthy baby, thank you.

Leave a Reply

